Apple iPhone :: Got Looks, Got Features, Got Money UI?

At least it looks that way!

iphone2.jpg

Clean Interface as usual from Apple.

I am certain by the time you are reading my lowly blog you have already saturated your brain with other far better articles about Apple’s new product: The iPhone. NO? Well, if not – Here’s some good ones:

I’m not going to talk in depth about what the phone does cause you can read that in the links above. All you really need to know is that it’s…

“… THREE revolutionary new products. The first one is a widescreen ipod with touch controls” The crowd goes wild. “The second is a revolutionary new mobile phone. And the third is a breakthrough internet communications device.” -Jobs

…all wrapped into one product.

icons.jpg unlock.jpg

Features.

I think the coolest looking thing for me is the UI (user interface). This is the area that Apple seems to hit so nicely with all of their products. (Why don’t other companies invest more in this?!? Looks, ARE a feature.) Adorned with nicely designed icons and widgets, the iPhone’s interface is sure to be easy to navigate and pleasant on the eyes. As you can see from the videos and photos – the iPhone does not have (or need) a keypad and is in fact designed specifically not to need one. Neither does the device require a stylus. It is completely driven by finger touch. Time will tell how badly the screen smudges or scratches, however. Perhaps there is a decent cover for the screen side…

weather-widget.jpg b0009oijdc01lzzzzzzz.jpgtreo.jpg

A Weather Widget (iPhone) – The Blackberry interface – Treo 700wx (that Matt loves)

From what I can tell the screen clarity is very high which only enhances the coolness of the UI as the buttons, icons and other graphics look extremely clear and sharp. The question here, of course is, what about direct sunlight? (a bane of many portable devices). Apparently the iPhone automatically senses light intensity and adjusts it’s brightness. Handy.

horizontal.jpg

When turned on it’s side the iPhone rotates the UI as well.

I really think it’s a neat idea that you can turn the device and the screen flops to a horizontal layout. Certainly could be a bummer if the sensor flips out though as has been reported with other devices.

Apple is teaming up with Cingular (only) on this one. I guess if Cingular can’t break out of the boring cell provider mold on their own (As I mentioned in this post) then teaming up with a company that can, might work. The device will cost $499 for the 4gig version and $599 for the 8gig. Sound spendy? Well – remember that you won’t have to buy a phone and an ipod and a Palm (Ha! Palm….whatever). Plus – if you sign up for a 2 year contract then perhaps Cingular will eat some of the cost so they can suck it from your veins slowly keep your business later. The iPhone is slated for release in June.

Really, time will tell on this one. It certainly looks like a fun and cool innovation.

warning.jpg

Funny warning from the base of the Apple page.

7 Responses to “Apple iPhone :: Got Looks, Got Features, Got Money UI?”

  1. Matt Turkington Says:

    Hey, another iProduct! I do hope this actually works, though. I’ve been meaning to blog about this, but less than a month ago, I got a Treo 700wx, and it’s just rocked my world. I’ve gotten so much more done and the amount of information instantly available is staggering. I highly recommend an “integrated” device – once I get the 4gb SD card, it’ll be pretty much everything I need on the go. Interface is good, but could use work. I’m glad to see a non-traditional player entering the market….Dell was rumored to be working on one a couple years ago, but it never seemed to get off the ground. Anything that creates more competition in the cell market is a Good Thing to me!

  2. Andrew Says:

    (Concerning iProduct) I know, I ignored the hype before-hand. I honestly couldn’t have cared less about the “Apple iPhone,” until today when they actually brought something to the table. (In fact, my friend Robby asked me what I thought about the iPhone this morning and I hadn’t read about it yet – those were my exact words, “I couldn’t care less…”) I would rather be surprised by a cool idea than try to postulate every possible angle the company might take. What a waste of time. Then all you get is a big “Pfffffffffffffffffffshhhhhhhhh – deflate” whenever something gets released.

    I would most likely wait till a second release before ever buying something like this. Mainly because then there would be other options and some of the unforeseen problems would be weeded out.
    —-
    An another note, Matt showed me his Treo around Christmas time and I agree, it is a sweet product.

    You see, this is what good competition breeds – “Phatty McSweet” Tech gadgets.

    And yet, people keep hating the free market…

  3. Andrew Says:

    Also, Seeing that the iPhone supports widgets I wonder what kind of sweet third party stuff people will come up with. Fully running OSX and supporting web apps would open up the device to some pretty sweet modding and customization.

  4. Matt Turkington Says:

    Yeah, that’s what seems the coolest to me. I’ve gotten some custom apps for my Treo which are just sweet, but there’s not an easy framework for whipping up a useful tool like a widget. I would like that. I’m interested to see how they deal with things like battery life. Having my phone get on EVDO and check my email every 5 minutes DOES do wonderful things for my battery life compared to those on-demand-ers. So having web-enabled widgets running full-time, increasing your network usage, plus the giant color touchscreen….battery life is going to be huge. If you can’t get a full day of use out of it, it’s worthless to me.

  5. Andrew Says:

    I think it would be so cool to be able to write your own little web apps for your phone. Talk about making it do exactly what you want. It would be cool cause open source stuff is usually more useful.

    Yeah, battery life is crucial. Graphics and Wifi use the most too. It’s really the one technical hold up that gadgets are facing. I mean – if there was a way to squeeze a couple days into one of these new devices that would be hot.

    Like I mentioned above. I think the screen without keys is a sweet idea but who knows how screwed it will get when you smudge it and what about scratches?

    Not to mention, I would be so paranoid that it would get jacked.
    ;)

  6. Andrew Says:

    This reminds me of a Ford commercial, “Bold Moves – they happen everyday.”

    …wait – I just threw up in my mouth a little.

    What’s the logic here, “shoot first, ask questions later?”
    Is this what’s considered as “Think Different” ? Everyone was already wondering about this. I love that this big a deal can be made about the name of a product. Perhaps they (Apple) should change it to iFone. That’s “edgier” anyway. Hahahahahahaha

    I don’t know about you but I think iPhone doesn’t work like iPod does (the name, that is). They really should have just come up with a unique name for it. I mean – it’s a bit more than a phone anyway. The Treo is not the TreoPhone after all. Same with BlackberryPhone, BlackjackPhone, etc.

    Perhaps they should register a new product , the iLawsuit.

    As a side note – Is it possible to like Apple products and not like Apple as a company? Will I now be flogged by Macophiles? Seriously though – All you really need to do is – Make great products!!! Quit with the silly “we’re cooler than you” crap. Let your products speak for themselves. All this has caused is two camps: a few people who live and die Apple no matter what, and a lot of people who hate their guts just because. (Some people in the blogs were cheering when the Time Machine demo froze a keynote ago or so. Apple creates that with their somewhat ridiculous claims.) You can still keep the buzz without the bashing, semi-truths, and Reality Distortion Field.


Leave a Reply

